Table of ContentsClick to view all sections
- BPSC 72nd CCE Prelims Exam 2026: latest update and key highlights
- What has changed—and what should candidates do now?
- How many vacancies are in BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
- What is the eligibility for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
- What is the salary for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
- What is the selection process for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
- How to apply for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026? Applications closed
- What are the important dates for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
- What is the application fee?
- Preparation points and common errors to avoid
- BPSC 72nd CCE 2026 — essential links
- Final takeaway
Update dated 12 October 2026: The Bihar Public Service Commission (BPSC) has postponed the BPSC 72nd CCE Prelims Exam that was scheduled for 25 October 2026. The commission cited unavoidable reasons, and a revised date has not yet been announced. The update does not ask candidates to submit a new application. Applicants should continue preparing and rely on BPSC’s official website for the next notice.
BPSC 72nd CCE Prelims Exam 2026: latest update and key highlights
The postponement changes the examination schedule, but the application period remains closed. The recruitment covers 1,230 posts across the Integrated 72nd Combined Competitive Examination and associated Child Development Project Officer (CDPO), Financial Administrative Officer and Sub-Divisional Protection Officer posts. Applications were accepted from 7 May to 31 May 2026.
At the time of the 12 October update, there is no confirmed replacement date. Candidates should therefore avoid making travel or examination plans based on an unofficial date. The information below summarises the published recruitment details alongside the postponement update. For any later changes, including a revised schedule or vacancy adjustment, check the commission’s official notices.
| Detail | Information |
|---|---|
| Recruiting body | Bihar Public Service Commission (BPSC) |
| Recruitment | Integrated 72nd Combined Competitive Examination 2026 |
| Total vacancies | 1,230: Table I has 1,077 and Table II has 153 |
| Application period | 7 May–31 May 2026 (closed) |
| Prelims date | 25 October 2026 postponed; new date awaited |
| Pay levels | Level 6, Level 7 and Level 9 |
| Posting location | Bihar |
What has changed—and what should candidates do now?
The examination scheduled for 25 October has been deferred. BPSC’s postponement notice cited unavoidable reasons and said the revised date would be communicated later. No replacement date is confirmed in the update covered here. The announcement concerns the Prelims schedule; it does not state that applications have reopened or that candidates must apply again.
For candidates who have already applied for the BPSC 72nd CCE Prelims Exam, the immediate practical step is to monitor official information while continuing preparation. The old date should not be treated as the current examination date, and social media posts or other unofficial claims should not be treated as confirmation. Once BPSC publishes a revised schedule, candidates can use that notice to update their plans.
- Continue studying from the published syllabus and exam structure rather than pausing preparation while the date is pending.
- Check the BPSC website and its advertisement or notice section for the revised schedule and any related instructions.
- Keep application details and registered contact information accessible so that you can refer to your submitted records.
- Do not rely on an unverified date or assume that the postponement changes eligibility, vacancies or examination rules.
- Read any new BPSC notice in full; this summary does not replace the official advertisement or later instructions.
How many vacancies are in BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
The recruitment lists 1,230 vacancies in total. Table I accounts for 1,077 posts across 22 services, while Table II includes 153 posts in three associated services. The largest single listed intake is 365 Revenue Officer posts. Vacancy numbers may be revised if the commission receives additional requisitions, so candidates should check the latest advertisement and notices rather than assume that the current figure cannot change.
| Post | Pay level | Vacancies |
|---|---|---|
| Sub-Divisional Officer / Senior Deputy Collector (BAS) | Level 9 | 100 |
| Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) | Level 9 | 22 |
| State Tax Assistant Commissioner (Bihar Finance Service) | Level 9 | 76 |
| Sub-Election Officer | Level 9 | 7 |
| Sub-Registrar / Joint Sub-Registrar | Level 9 | 3 |
| Labour Superintendent | Level 9 | 10 |
| Assistant Registrar, Cooperative Societies | Level 9 | 10 |
| District Audit Officer, Cooperative Societies | Level 9 | 2 |
| Bihar Education Service (Administration) | Level 9 | 9 |
| District Minority Welfare Officer | Level 9 | 1 |
| Cane Officer | Level 9 | 44 |
| Probation Officer | Level 9 | 4 |
| Assistant Planning Officer / Assistant Director | Level 9 | 10 |
| Municipal Executive Officer | Level 7 | 54 |
| Rural Development Officer | Level 7 | 65 |
| Revenue Officer (Bihar Revenue Service) | Level 7 | 365 |
| Block Panchayat Raj Officer | Level 7 | 70 |
| Cooperative Extension Officer | Level 7 | 130 |
| Labour Enforcement Officer | Level 7 | 56 |
| Supply Inspector (Bihar Supply Service) | Level 7 | 31 |
| Block SC & ST Welfare Officer | Level 7 | 5 |
| Block Minority Welfare Officer | Level 6 | 3 |
| Child Development Project Officer (CDPO) | Level 9 | 20 |
| Financial Administrative Officer (Bihar FAS) | Level 9 | 32 |
| Sub-Divisional Protection Officer (women only) | Level 9 | 101 |
| Total | — | 1,230 |
Table II is made up of 20 CDPO, 32 Financial Administrative Officer and 101 Sub-Divisional Protection Officer vacancies. The notification also states that 344 Table I posts are reserved for women. It identifies 26 vacancies for grandchildren of freedom fighters: 22 in Table I and four in Table II. Candidates should consult the official advertisement for the detailed reservation conditions and applicable evidence requirements.
What is the eligibility for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
Educational qualification
A bachelor’s degree from a recognised university, or an equivalent qualification, is required for the Table I services. The three associated Table II posts have additional subject requirements. These distinctions matter when checking eligibility: holding a degree alone does not necessarily meet the specific subject condition for every associated post.
- CDPO: A graduate degree is required. The Mains optional subject must be Home Science, Psychology, Sociology, or Labour & Social Welfare.
- Financial Administrative Officer: Graduation must be in Commerce, Economics, Mathematics or Statistics.
- Sub-Divisional Protection Officer: Graduation must be in Psychology or Law. This post is for women only.
As stated in the recruitment details, the relevant certificates had to be issued on or before 31 May 2026, the application closing date. Since applications are closed, candidates should use the official advertisement to review the conditions that applied to their submitted application and keep the supporting records available for later verification.
Age limit (as on 1 August 2026)
The age reference date is 1 August 2026, and the minimum age is not the same for every post. The minimum is 20 years for DSP; 21 years for Table I posts 12 to 21, CDPO and Sub-Divisional Protection Officer; and 22 years for the remaining posts. Date of birth is taken from the Matriculation certificate.
| Category | Maximum age |
|---|---|
| Unreserved male | 37 years |
| Unreserved female, BC and EBC candidates | 40 years |
| SC / ST candidates | 42 years |
When checking the age condition, use the stated reference date and the minimum age for the relevant post, not the date on which you read this update. The Matriculation certificate is the stated source for date of birth. Any category-based concession should be checked together with its specific eligibility conditions in the notification.
Age relaxation
| Category / condition | Relaxation stated |
|---|---|
| Persons with benchmark disabilities | 10 years over the applicable upper age limit |
| Ex-servicemen | Defence service period plus 3 years; actual age not above 57 |
| Ex-servicemen / commissioned officers with 5 or more years of service | Up to 5 years |
| SC / ST ex-servicemen or officers | Additional relaxation is described in the notification by service category; check its detailed rule before applying |
| Bihar Government employees | 5 years, with a maximum of 5 attempts after joining service |
| Ex-NCC full-time cadets / instructors | NCC service period, subject to a maximum of 3 years over the age limit |
Age concessions can depend on category, service history and the relevant post. The table is a summary of the stated conditions, not a complete assessment of an individual candidate’s claim. Check the detailed notification rule and the documents it requires before relying on a relaxation.
Physical standards (DSP only)
DSP applicants must meet the physical and medical requirements set out in Appendix-Ka of the notification. The limited information below is not a substitute for the complete post-wise standards. Candidates considering DSP should consult that appendix directly rather than applying one measurement to every candidate or category.
| Check | Summary in the recruitment details |
|---|---|
| Height and chest | Standards vary; the notification gives the full table. One cited height band is 62.5–65 inches with chest measurements of 30 / 32 inches. |
| Distance vision with glasses | 6/6 in the better eye and 6/12 in the other eye |
| Myopia | Generally not above -2.5 D with no degenerative retinal changes; for candidates aged 25 or above, up to -3.5 D if corrected to 6/6 |
| Other medical checks | Hearing, dental, chest, heart and lungs |
What is the salary for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
The recruitment details specify pay matrix levels rather than a single take-home salary figure. The listed posts fall under Levels 6, 7 and 9. Actual pay and allowances depend on the post and applicable service rules, so the pay level should be read as the information provided in the recruitment details, not as a guaranteed net monthly amount.
| Pay level | Posts included |
|---|---|
| Level 9 | Table I posts 1–13, including SDO, DSP and State Tax Assistant Commissioner; also CDPO, Financial Administrative Officer and Sub-Divisional Protection Officer |
| Level 7 | Municipal Executive Officer, Rural Development Officer, Revenue Officer, Block Panchayat Raj Officer, Cooperative Extension Officer, Labour Enforcement Officer, Supply Inspector and Block SC & ST Welfare Officer |
| Level 6 | Block Minority Welfare Officer |
What is the selection process for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
The selection process consists of the Preliminary Examination, Mains, Interview and subsequent medical examination and document verification. Prelims is a screening stage: its marks do not count towards the final merit list. Candidates shortlisted from Prelims proceed to Mains under the stated shortlisting rule, and eligible Mains candidates are called for Interview.
Final merit is based on 900 Mains marks and 120 Interview marks, making 1,020 marks in total. In a tie, the candidate with higher Mains marks receives the higher rank. Post preference is provided through a separate online Mains application. The notification states that a candidate cannot later claim a post that they did not select, so the preference instructions should be read carefully when that stage applies.
| Stage / rule | Details |
|---|---|
| Prelims | 150 General Studies multiple-choice questions; 150 marks; 2 hours |
| Negative marking | One-third mark deducted for an incorrect answer; the notification also specifies a deduction for a question with no option (A–E) marked |
| Prelims qualifying thresholds | General 40%; BC 36.5%; EBC 34%; SC, ST, women and PwBD 32% |
| Shortlisting for Mains | Up to 10 times the vacancies |
| Shortlisting for Interview | Up to 2.5 times the vacancies |
| Interview | 120 marks |
| Service preference | Candidates provide post preference in the separate Mains online application; a post not selected cannot later be claimed |
Prelims subjects
For the BPSC 72nd CCE Prelims Exam, the General Studies paper covers General Science; current events; Indian and Bihar history and geography; Indian polity and economy; Bihar’s economy; the national movement and Bihar’s contribution; and General Mental Ability. The subject list combines broad national areas with Bihar-specific topics. Candidates can use it to check that their study plan covers the full stated range rather than concentrating on only one part of General Studies.
The postponement means candidates have additional time before the examination date is confirmed, but the announcement does not provide a revised timetable or change the syllabus. A practical preparation approach is to continue revising every listed area, keep track of current events and include Bihar-related history, geography and economy in regular revision. These are study suggestions based on the published topic list, not additional syllabus rules.
Mains (written) examination
| Paper | Marks / treatment |
|---|---|
| General Hindi | 100 marks; qualifying, with 30% required; not counted in merit |
| General Studies Paper I | 300 marks |
| General Studies Paper II | 300 marks |
| Essay | 300 marks for the 72nd CCE |
| Post-specific optional paper for CDPO / FAO / Sub-Divisional Protection Officer | 300 marks, counted in merit, and replaces the Essay paper |
| Optional subject for the 72nd CCE | 100 multiple-choice questions; qualifying only |
Mains may be written in Hindi, English or Urdu, using one language. The paper arrangement differs for candidates applying to the associated CDPO, Financial Administrative Officer or Sub-Divisional Protection Officer posts, because the post-specific optional paper replaces the Essay paper as stated above. Candidates should check the official advertisement for paper-specific directions and the structure applicable to the post they selected.
How to apply for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026? Applications closed
The application window ran from 7 May to 31 May 2026 and is closed. New applications cannot be submitted through this recruitment notice. The following records the published online application process for candidates who need to understand or check the steps associated with their submission; it is not an invitation to apply now.
- Complete One-Time Registration on the BPSC online portal using an email address and mobile number.
- Sign in through DigiLocker (Meri Pehchaan) or direct login and complete the candidate profile, including personal, address, qualification and experience details.
- Upload the requested photograph, signature and supporting documents in the formats and size limits shown on the portal.
- After locking the profile, select “New Advertisement” and choose the BPSC 72nd CCE notice.
- Select the applicable post or examination, pay the fee through the SBI gateway and proceed to the application form.
- Submit the form and save the submitted copy and application identifiers for future reference.
Keep the submitted application copy and relevant qualification, category, age-relaxation and identity records available for later stages. The precise document list and any verification instructions should be taken from the official notice or call letter. This summary is not exhaustive, and candidates should not assume that a document omitted here will not be required.
What are the important dates for BPSC 72nd CCE 2026?
| Event | Date / amount |
|---|---|
| Applications opened | 7 May 2026 |
| Application deadline | 31 May 2026 (closed) |
| Age calculated as on | 1 August 2026 |
| Prelims originally scheduled | 25 October 2026; postponed |
| Postponement notice | 12 October 2026 |
| Revised Prelims date | Not announced |
The 25 October date is the original schedule and should not be presented as the current confirmed examination date. The commission has not announced a revised date in the update summarised here. Candidates should check the official website and advertisement or notice page for any subsequent announcement.
What is the application fee?
The Prelims application fee was ₹100 per examination for all categories. If Aadhaar was not entered, an additional biometric fee of ₹200 per examination applied. Payment was made through the SBI Payment Gateway and was non-refundable. The Mains fee is paid separately with its online application; an amount was not specified in the notification details summarised here. The stated medical examination fee is ₹16 in cash.
Because the application period has ended, these fee details are provided as a record of the published process. They do not indicate that a new payment or application step is currently open. Candidates should refer to the relevant official instructions if BPSC issues further guidance for a later stage.
Preparation points and common errors to avoid
- Do not plan around the old date: the 25 October examination has been postponed. Wait for BPSC to publish a replacement date.
- Check post-specific eligibility: degree subject requirements differ for CDPO, Financial Administrative Officer and Sub-Divisional Protection Officer.
- Use the correct age cut-off: the reference date is 1 August 2026, and the minimum age differs by post.
- Read the DSP appendix in full: the physical-standard summary above does not include every category or measurement.
- Revise the whole Prelims syllabus: include Bihar-specific history, geography and economy alongside the other listed General Studies subjects.
- Review marking instructions: understand the rules for incorrect and unmarked responses from the official notification before attempting the paper.
- Retain your application record: applications are closed, and post preference is submitted through the later Mains application as specified by BPSC.
- Use official notices for changes: the current update confirms a postponement but does not state a revised date or announce a new application period.
BPSC 72nd CCE 2026 — essential links
| Resource | Link |
|---|---|
| BPSC official website and notices | Visit BPSC |
| BPSC advertisement / notification page | View advertisements |
| BPSC online candidate login | Open candidate login |
Final takeaway
The BPSC 72nd CCE Prelims Exam scheduled for 25 October 2026 has been postponed, and BPSC had not announced a revised date in its 12 October update. The application period for the 1,230-post recruitment ended on 31 May 2026. Candidates should continue preparing from the published syllabus, review post-specific eligibility and follow the official BPSC website for the next schedule. Treat any replacement date as unconfirmed until it appears in an official notice.
Frequently Asked Questions
Has the BPSC 72nd CCE Prelims Exam been postponed?
Yes. BPSC postponed the examination scheduled for 25 October 2026, according to its update dated 12 October 2026.
What is the new BPSC 72nd CCE Prelims date?
No revised date was announced in the postponement update covered here. Check BPSC’s official website for the next schedule.
Why was the Prelims postponed?
The notice cited unavoidable reasons. It did not provide further details in the update summarised here.
Do candidates need to apply again?
No new application action was requested in the postponement update. The original application window closed on 31 May 2026.
How many vacancies are there in the 72nd CCE recruitment?
The stated total is 1,230 vacancies: 1,077 in Table I and 153 in Table II. BPSC may revise vacancy totals if further requisitions are received.
What is the Prelims exam pattern?
The Prelims is a two-hour General Studies paper with 150 multiple-choice questions for 150 marks. The notification details include negative marking provisions, including a deduction for an incorrect answer and a rule concerning questions with no option marked.
What was the application fee?
The Prelims fee was ₹100 per examination for all categories. An additional ₹200 biometric fee applied per examination if Aadhaar was not entered.
Where should candidates check the revised date?
Use the official BPSC website and its advertisement or notice page. Treat the revised date as unconfirmed until BPSC publishes it.







Comments